Spinefarm Records Reveals Details About New Ensiferum Compilation

Spinefarm Records Reveals Details About New Ensiferum Compilation

Two Decades of Greatest Sword Hits Out April 1

Spinefarm Records has announced album details of the first compilation release of iconic pagan metallers ENSIFERUM.

Closing the Spinefarm chapter of Ensiferum’s relentless ascent to pagan metal hall of fame, the collection Two Decades of Greatest Sword Hits, out April 1, is a testimony of things past but definitely worth remembering. It is available for pre-order here.

The band, said, “Twenty years since the first notes were played in Ensiferum’s first rehearsals. I doubt that 15-years old Markus Toivonen had any idea what he had just started and what kind of journey the band would begin that day. So much has happened in 20 years, but the cornerstones of our music —folk and metal— are still there and we will keep exploring this unholy combination until we die. We have always composed songs with lots of patience and hard self critisism but still wanted to have some blink in the corner of the eye and push our musical boundaries.This compilation gives the listener great chance to hear how the bandhas evolved during these years. Enjoy and folk on!”

Complete with the band’s in-depth song descriptions and reminiscence, Two Decades of Greatest Sword Hits features 14 of the most proudly shield-pounding epic metal hymns of Ensiferum. The songs take you through the formative years of a band that became one of the biggest of its generation in the ever-expanding realm of heathen metal.


1. By The Dividing Stream
2. From Afar
3. Heathen Horde
4. One More Magic Potion
5. In My Sword I Trust
6. Token of Time
7. Dragonheads
8. Twilight Tavern
9. Burning Leaves
10. Treacherous Gods
11. Lai Lai Hei
12. Two of Spades
13. Iron
14. Victory Song